Article 191 of the 1992 Constitution provides a list of agencies that constitute the Public Services of Ghana. Article 195 of the Constitution further provides that "the power to appoint persons to hold or to act in an office in the public services shall vest in the President, acting in accordance with the advice of the governing council of the service concerned, given in consultation with the Public Services Commission"

In the performance of its functions, the Public Services Commission collaborates/consults with governing boards of public service agencies, some of which are listed below:

Public Service Organisation Governing Council
Civil Service Civil Service Council
Audit Service Audit Service Board
Parliamentary Service Parliamentary Service Board
National Fire Service National Fire Service Board
Health Service Health Service Council
Ghana Revenue Authority
Ghana Revenue Authority Board
Ghana Education Service Ghana Education Service Council
Ghana Police Service Police Council
Immigration Service Immigration Service Board
Local Government Service Local Government Service Council
Non-commercial Public Corporations Board of Directors
Extra-Ministerial Organizations Governing Councils
State Media Houses Governing Councils
National Media Commission National Media Commission
Commission for Human Commission for Human
Rights and Administrative Justice Rights and Administrative Justice
National Commission for Civic Education National Commission for Civic Education
Economic & Organised Crime Office Economic & Organised Crime Office Board
National Council for Tertiary Education National Council for Tertiary Education
Minerals Commission Minerals Commission
Electoral Commission Electoral Commission
Forestry Commission Forestry Commission
Fisheries Commission Fisheries Commission
National Development Planning Commission National Development Planning Commission
Lands Commission Lands Commission
Energy Commission Energy Commission
Subvented Organisations Governing Councils

Board of Directors

Governing Councils

The governing boards/councils of other Public Services, which are established by the 1992 Constitution; and such other public services as Parliament may by law prescribe.